5 Minutes with a Mom: Kelly Miller Krause

Kelly Krause family

Kelly Miller Krause is a helper and she loves big. She and her family are living in Sibiu (in the heart of Transylvania) where they do humanitarian work.

They don’t have a home in Springdale anymore, but still consider it their second home and visit as often as possible. As Kelly says of NWA, “All our people are there.”

Kids’ names and ages: Zach age 22, Gabe age 13

Tell us about where you live and what brought you to NWA:

We came to Springdale in 2002 with our son, Zach. David and I knew we wanted to be closer to extended family while we raised our kids so, NWA was the best choice for us. (My Mom was raised in NWA.) We found a great home church, Christian Life Cathedral, and settled in to life. Our oldest son, graduated from SHS.

Kelly Krause and boys

Tell us about your time in Romania and what you do now:

We have been coming to Romania as Grace & Truth International for 7 years. The past 4 years we have lived in Sibiu. We do humanitarian work in the form of feeding programs, after school programs, teaching ESL, and beginning a sustainable farming co-op. In 2019, we formed Culture of Hope Community as a Romanian NGO and plan to start a church in the city of Sibiu that will reach out to our community in practical ways showing Jesus as we reach those that need Him.

So, COVID-19. How is your family doing right now?

We are good. Gabe is Type 1 Diabetic, so we are hyper aware of staying germ-free when we are out of the house. We still live our best life, just with masks, gloves and all the antibacterial wipes, soap etc. We are serving our community by delivering food to those affected by COVID-19.

My husband and I do the shopping with masks and gloves. Our youngest son, Gabe, goes with us on deliveries to get out of the house. We are allowed to do this because of our NGO status.

We take regular walks with our new pup, Dexter. Since our “stay at home” order we have had to carry papers and ID at all times. Our family in NWA are all well. Our oldest son is doing online classes at UALR.

Kelly Krause and her husband, missionary work

Once it’s safe to leave the house again, what’s the first thing you’ll do?

Meet our friends at City Center and have ice cream! Also, a huge grill for all the volunteers that have worked with us to serve our community.

Share a typical pandemic day with us:

We are not early risers. Our day starts around 9:00ish. It could go 2 ways. Either we are busy prepping and delivering food or we are home, doing school, taking a walk, and posting on social media to keep our partners aware of what we are doing.

Around 4:00 here, my husband starts his work day that lasts until midnight or after Monday-Friday. He works remotely as a Mortgage Banker. I make dinner while he works . Gabe finishes school work or gets online to game.

We have a Zoom prayer meeting 3 nights a week for 30 minutes with our Culture of Hope Community. It’s pretty cool because any given night we have at least 3 countries represented. All in some form of quarantine. The fellowship is sweet. God is good.

If you could vacation anywhere in the world this summer, where would you go?

Greece. Currently watching airfare for the fall.

If you could magically learn a new skill, what would it be?

To speak Romanian.

What’s something your friends might not know about you?

Hmmm, I’m a pretty open book.

How do you relax when the stress threatens to take over?

Worship music, baking, or good cup of coffee on my terrace.

Who do you most admire? 

My parents. They teach me so much about doing the right thing and they love BIG. Always put God and family first.

What do you most want people to remember about you?

That I am brave enough to love you as you are.

What are three things you always have with you?

A pack of smarties candy, my phone, and water bottle.

One word to sum me up: Brave